Mother Teresa

“I wanted to become a Mother to the poorest of the world’s poor” It was in September of 1946 that Mother Teresa received the great inspiration of her life in a railway carriage bound for Darjeeling while contemplating the poverty all around her—to become a mother to the poorest of the world’s poor. Mother Teresa’s…

Nelson Mandela

Nelson Mandela dedicated his life to the non-violent struggle against the system of racial segregation known as Apartheid in South Africa. On August 5, 1962, he was arrested by the police and sentenced to life imprisonment. He refused to be released to remain consistent with his principles. After 27 years in prison, he was released…

Fiodor Dostoïevski

Fyodor Dostoevsky (1821-1881) ” The man is an enigma. This enigma must be exposed “. At the age of 18, Dostoevsky had already formulated his vital mission: “Man is an enigma. This enigma must be exposed. And if I spend my life laying it bare, do not tell me I’m wasting my time. I am…

Alexandre Solzhenitsyn

Alexandre Solzhenitsyn (1918-2008) “I wanted to be the memory … the memory of a people victim of an unspeakable tragedy.” Literature, like politics, the business world, science and religion, is a privileged field for the exercise of magnanimity. Very shortly after his arrest by the Soviet political police, Alexander Solzhenitsyn grasped the meaning and scope…

Thomas More

Thomas More (1478-1535) “The purity of my conscience.That’s the source of my jubilation” To remain true to his conscience, Sir Thomas More, the great humanist and Lord Chancellor of King Henry VIII, refused to recognize the latter as the self-proclaimed leader of a new church of his own invention. Although cruelly treated during the fifteen…

Corazon Aquino

Corazon Aquino (1933-2009) “ Without true values, a democracy is only a confederation of lunatics. ” Corazon Aquino, President of the Philippines from 1986 to 1992, is a good example of virtuous leadership. After the assassination of her husband, the popular Senator Begnino Aquino, Cory Aquino became the keystone of the opposition to autocratic President…

Eric Liddell

Eric Liddell (1902-1945) “God made me fast”. Eric Liddell, the Scottish athlete who won the 400m gold medal at the 1924 Paris Olympics and one of the heroes of the film Chariots of Fires (1981), was one day overturned by one of his competitors at the start of a race. Discontented, he hesitated a moment…

Jerome Lejeune

Jerome Lejeune (1926-1994) “Defend the scientific truth and the great moral truth that follows: here is my mission”. Jerome Lejeune is the French geneticist who discovered in 1958, at the age of thirty-two years, during the examination of the chromosomes of a child called “Mongolian” (Down syndrome), the existence of a chromosome in too much…

Martin Luther-King

Martin Luther-King (1929-1968) “I have a dream” Martin Luther King is a wonderful example of magnanimity. Magnanimity is the virtue of persons who are at once philosophers and men of action. King was a non-violent civil rights activist for blacks in the United States. In 1963 he wrote from his Birmingham jail: “When you have…

BADEN-POWELL

BADEN-POWELL ( 1857- 1941 ) « An officer can only be a good leader if he loves his men » Baden- Powell, although he had a brilliant and dazzling career in the British army, is known not so much for his military achievements as for founding the Scout movement. He spent much of his childhood in the…

Mother Teresa

“Je voulais devenir mère des plus pauvres des pauvres du monde” C’est en septembre 1946 que Mère Teresa a reçu la grande inspiration de sa vie dans une voiture de chemin de fer à destination de Darjeeling tout en contemplant la pauvreté qui l’entourait – pour devenir la mère des plus pauvres des pauvres du…

Nelson Mandela

Nelson Mandela a consacré sa vie à la lutte non violente contre le système de ségrégation raciale connu sous le nom d’apartheid en Afrique du Sud. Le 5 août 1962, il a été arrêté par la police et condamné à la réclusion à perpétuité. Il a refusé d’être libéré pour rester conforme à ses principes.…

Fiodor Dostoïevski

Fiodor Dostoïevski (1821-1881) « L’homme est une énigme. Cette énigme il faut le mettre à nu ». A l’âge de 18 ans Dostoïevski avait déjà formulé sa mission vitale : « L’homme est une énigme. Cette énigme il faut le mettre à nu. Et si je passe ma vie à la mettre à nu, ne…

Alexandre Soljenitsyne

Alexandre Soljenitsyne (1918-2008) “Je voulais être la mémoire… la mémoire d’un peuple victime d’une indicible tragédie.” La littérature, tout comme la politique, le monde des affaires, la science et la religion, est un champ privilégié pour l’exercice de la magnanimité. Très peu de temps après son arrestation par la police politique soviétique, Alexandre Soljenitsyne saisit…

Thomas More

Thomas More (1478-1535) “La pureté de ma conscience… Voilà la source de ma jubilation” Pour rester fidèle à sa conscience, Sir Thomas More, le grand humaniste et Lord chancelier du roi Henri VIII, refusa de reconnaître ce dernier comme le chef autoproclamé d’une nouvelle église de sa propre invention. Quoique traité cruellement pendant les quinze…

Corazon Aquino

Corazon Aquino (1933-2009) “Sans les vraies valeurs, une démocratie n’est qu’une confédération de fous.” Corazon Aquino, Présidente des Philippines de 1986 à 1992, est un bon exemple de leadership vertueux. Après l’assassinat de son mari, le populaire sénateur Begnino Aquino, Cory Aquino devint la clé de voûte de l’opposition au Président autocrate Ferdinand Marcos. Avec…

Eric Liddell

Eric Liddell (1902-1945) “God made me fast”. Eric Liddell, l’athlète écossais qui remporta la médaille d’or du 400 mètres aux Jeux Olympiques de Paris de 1924 et l’un des héros du film Les chariots de feux (1981), fut un jour renversé par un des ses concurrents au départ d’une course. Décontenancé, il hésita un instant à se…

Jérôme Lejeune

Jérôme Lejeune (1926-1994) “Défendre la vérité scientifique et la grande vérité morale qui en découle : voilà ma mission”. Jérôme Lejeune est le généticien français qui découvrit en 1958, à l’âge de trente-deux ans, lors de l’examen des chromosomes d’un enfant dit « mongolien » (syndrome de Down), l’existence d’un chromosome en trop sur la…

Martin Luther-King

Martin Luther-King (1929-1968) “I have a dream” Martin Luther King est un merveilleux exemple de magnanimité. La magnanimité est la vertu des personnes qui sont à la fois des philosophes et des hommes d’action. King était un militant non-violent pour les droits civiques des Noirs aux États-Unis. En 1963 il écrivait de sa prison de Birmingham: « Quand vous…

Baden-Powell

BADEN-POWELL ( 1857- 1941 ) «  Un officier ne peut être un bon chef que s’il aime ses hommes » Baden- Powell, bien qu’il ait fait une carrière brillante et fulgurante dans l’armée britannique, est connu non pas tant pour ses hauts faits militaires que pour avoir fondé le mouvement scout. Son enfance, il la passe…